Institute Medal Award Recipients Announced

The Institute of Chartered Foresters is delighted to announce that Tom Jenkins FICFor and Dr Gary Kerr FICFor CEnv have been awarded the Institute’s Medal. The Institute’s Medal is our highest honour – given to individuals who demonstrate a continued commitment to professional excellence and service in forestry. It is presented to those whose work reaches […]

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2022 – “Don’t be shy!”

The submission deadline for entries to Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2022 is only two weeks away. Here, Angela Douglas FICFor outlines why you should get involved… Chartered Foresters are modest types on the whole. They go about their work skilfully and professionally, without necessarily shouting about its high quality. Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards are committed to ensuring […]

Institute awards two Honorary Fellowships

 We are delighted to appoint Tony Kirkham MBE and Sue James AA Dipl RIBA as Honorary Fellows in recognition of their service to the advancement of arboricultural knowledge. Before retiring in 2021, Tony Kirkham MBE had a distinguished 43-year career as Head of Arboretum, Gardens and Horticultural Services at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, where […]

Dr Felix Oboite awarded 2021 Silvicultural Prize

The Percy Stubbs and John Bolton King and Edward Garfitt Prize for Silviculture (Silvicultural Prize) is awarded annually for work advancing the sector’s knowledge of silviculture published in the Institute’s prestigious journal Forestry: An International Journal of Forest Research. We are delighted to award Dr Felix Oboite, Stewardship Forester with the British Columbia Ministry of […]

Scotland’s ‘Tree Oscars’ back with renewed climate focus

Scotland’s ‘Tree Oscars’ are back for 2022 after a highly successful programme in 2021 saw worthy winners ranging from the country’s largest landowner Anders Holch Povlsen to a tiny nursery school. Mr Povlsen and Wildland Ltd won the prize for New Native Woods in Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2021, for Killiehuntly in the Cairngorms – […]

Award showcases the best climate-adapted woodlands in England ahead of COP26

Rapid environmental change seriously threatens the health of our trees and woods. Now five award winning woodlands in England are being held up as outstanding examples of adaptation to climate change. The Perridge Estate near Exeter and the Morton Hall Estate near Retford jointly won the All-England Woodland Resilience Award for Existing Woodlands. They both […]

Institute members recognised in delayed RFS forestry awards

After the Royal Forestry Society’s Excellence in Forestry awards for 2020 were delayed due to the pandemic, judging was able to take place in 2021 after the lifting of COVID-19 restrictions and the winners have been announced. There are five categories of awards and judges praised the quality, quantity and variety of entries and shortlisted […]

Celebrating Scotland’s Finest Woods

Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ organisers are advising anyone interested in forestry, woods and related projects in Scotland that the usual limit to the number of people attending the ceremony does not apply to this year’s online event. Normally, the popular awards are held at the Royal Highland Show and numbers have to be limited due to space […]

All England Woodland Resilience Awards 2021

To mark the UK hosting the 26th UN Conference on Climate Change of the Parties (COP26) in November this year, the Forestry Climate Change Working Group, a cross-sector forestry body which promotes adaptation of trees, woods and forests to environmental change, is organising the All England Woodland Resilience Awards. There are two awards: Existing woodland […]

Applications Open for NZIF Foundation Awards & Scholarships 2021

There are a number of NZIF Foundation awards and scholarships now open for applications for 2021. The following are now open for applications: Two Future Forest Scholarship for post graduate research each of up to $10,000 The New Zealand Redwood Company Scholarship of $5,000 for an undergraduate scholarship at the University of Canterbury School Forestry […]